exercise plan?

Jennifer B.
on 9/7/08 10:05 pm - Townley, AL
Hi all! I'm a newbie here with a question. I'm  newly posst-op and my surgeon said nothing but walking till Thursday. My question is, what are some beginers workouts I can start doing Thursday?

A lil about me...

I'm 30 and weigh right now over 400 lbs. I'm limited to how long I can last without my legs and back killing me. But I want to work my way up to running like you guys within the next 2 years at the least. My town doesnt have a local pool or a gym so it would be hard to go to classes. I'll be doing it all at home. I do have a tredmill and a stationary bike here at home and some lil 1.5 pound hand weights.

Can you give me some ideas of how you started out?

I'm greatful for any and all help. Thanks!

Jennifer
beforeandafter6-9-09.jpg image by jennismurf205
Surgery date: Aug. 28, 2008.  Start weight 489 -  Current weight on March 29th 2009 368 - Goal weight 180 
Have lost 145 pounds so far.
puddin2day
on 9/8/08 2:33 am - Los Angeles, CA
Hi Jennifer,

I used Leslie Sansome's Walk Away the Pounds dvd.  She has several out, but the one I especially liked was the one where she had 3 different workouts (1 mile, 2 miles and 3 miles) on one dvd.  The 1 mile is 17 mins long, 2 miles is 30 mins and the 3 miles is about 45 mins long.  What I like abou****P, is that it doesn't take up much room.  You are mostly standing in one place.  If you can march in place, knee lifts, side steps and kicks (no matter how high), you can do WATP.  I would start with the 1 mile. Do the 1 mile until you get bored or it becomes ridiculously easy for you.  If for some reason, you cannot do a certain movement, just march in place.  As you get fit , you will be able to do more (i.e. lift your legs higher, use dumbbells, move faster). 

Good luck,
Kim
Without struggle, there is no progress.

DANCBJAMMIN
on 9/8/08 9:42 am - Fort Worth, TX
Hey Jennifer,