exercise -vs- calorie intake

zookeeper711
on 8/29/08 11:45 am - Philadelphia, PA
I just can't seem to find the answer, so maybe the folks here can help.  I'm 3 1/2 months out from RNY.  I was just cleared to exercise (but no core work) due to a nasty, large abcess post-op.  I have lost 68 lbs so far.

Now the question...I am logging my foods on thedailyplate.com as well as my exercise.  At this point I'm doing 2 hours of water aerobics 3 times a week.  On those days I'm burning more calories through exercise than I'm consuming.  Is this OK?  I had a call into the nutritionist and I'm waiting... and waiting... and waiting for an answer.  Opinions?  Thanks.  -Zook-

viewimage.aspx.jpg

kmcrispi
on 8/30/08 1:48 am - Columbus, OH
Well, I'm not a professional, but it seems like the difference between the calories consumed and the calories burned should be a minimum to support your body's basic funcions.  Isn't that why they talke about the body going into starvation mode and hanging on to every calorie consumed? 

Anyway, good luck.  It sounds like you're on a great path with the fitness!
zookeeper711
on 8/30/08 12:46 pm - Philadelphia, PA
Hmmm.  It's that "starvation mode" thing that I need to know about.  So I'll keep on questioning.  Thanks for the moral support!  :)  -Zook-

viewimage.aspx.jpg

misstilly
on 8/30/08 9:06 am - Cosby, TN