Conquered my 1st 10k!

Brian W.
on 7/27/08 6:48 am - Belmont, CA
So today I made the trek to Santa Cruz to take on the Wharf-to-Wharf 10k that I've been training for the last 2 months. 

Race started at 8:30 am, but took about 10 min to wade through all the people, baby strollers and kids.  I think I will try to get closer to the front next time as the slower people were not staying to the right as told and there had to be ppl walking that started up in the 6 minute area. 

My splits as best I recall

Mile 1- 19:00
Mile 2: 30:30
Mile 3: 42:25
Mile 4: 52:00
Mile 5: 1:03
Finish: 1:13:53.

Also there were various bands playing along the side of the road and the run was along the beach, which was nice scenery.

Looking forward to my next 10k, Aug 30th.  10k by the Bay at the Hayward Shoreline.

Pretty happy w/ my performance overall though..

Brian
~350
Linn D.
on 7/27/08 7:40 am - Missoula, MT

CONGRATS, BRIAN!

Pretty cool doing that first 10k.  It's also nice having bands along the way.  That's one of the things I like best about the Rock and Roll marathons and halfs.

One day I'd like to do a race by the beach.  Sounds like you had a really good time doing this one, and your splits were pretty consistent once you got going.  We all learn something from each race we do, and they get easier mentally as well as physically.

Good luck on the next!

Linn

Brian W.
on 7/27/08 10:18 am - Belmont, CA
Thanks.  I'm working up to my first Rock and Roll Half-Marathon in San Jose on October 5th.  I figure I will have 2 10ks under my belt and be able to finish in about 2:45 (or sooner)

Brian
~350
Scott William
on 7/27/08 9:07 am
Boy, that must have been a big race.  Congrats on finishing and if you subtract the 10 min start it's a respectable time.  Way to go!!!
Scott

Link to my running journal
http://www.disboards.com/showthread.php?t=1303681

4 full's - 14 halves - 2 goofy's and one Mt. Washington!
Brian W.
on 7/27/08 10:14 am - Belmont, CA