running and weight training

MaryS
on 7/17/08 12:02 pm - Long Island, NY
 Last year I never got my strength training off the ground and didn't start it during marathon training season.  This year I started training in late March.  I've been working out with my trainer on Thursday nights and doing my long run Saturday morning.  I've found my legs are getting tired faster than I think they should.  I'm wondering if it is the Thursday night workout.  I told my trainer I didn't want  to do legs tonight and he is of the opinion that the workout tonight should not impact my run.  I didn't do legs tonight so I'll see if it makes a difference on Saturday.

I was wondering what everyone is doing about weight training for legs and running.  Any thoughts, theories or experiences?

5'6" - 302/155-158 

Check my success story on my surgeon's website: my story
Check my blog: LosingForLife.com
Ran NYC Marathon 11/4/07 5:27:06

Linn D.
on 7/17/08 12:20 pm - Missoula, MT
I don't really have any advice, Mary since I don't do strength training with my legs.  I do spin classes, but that's about it.  I guess I don't think I need it since all my cardio uses legs.  Since your legs get more tired than you think they should, maybe try doing the legs earlier in the week so they have time to fully recover before your long runs.  I'm with you on not doing legs on Thurs and long runs on Sat.

Linn
Scott William
on 7/17/08 8:55 pm
When I was doing it all,  I would either do legs after I finished the long run or the next day.  Sure they were shot but I still felt like I got a good workout in.  I would never do them the day before running.  A lot of the lifters that I talk to talk about second day soreness.  That would lead me to believe that there is something to your legs being junk the second day after lifting.  I agree with Linn.  If your long run goes well this week, try swiching to an earlier day in the week.