The 15K That Started It All

Cassie W.
on 7/14/08 10:36 am

Sunday I ran my second Utica Boilermaker 15K, the road race that ignited my passion for running. When I started training for the 2007 Boilermaker over a year ago, I didn’t know that it would turn me into an athlete with a hunger to run just a little faster, just a little farther.

The Utica Boilermaker is one of the largest 15Ks in the nation and attracts several elite runners . Bill Rogers (4-time Boston Marathon winner) and Kathrine Switzer (the first woman to officially run the Boston Marathon) were among the guest speakers at the Expo.

I was truly looking forward to this homecoming. My brother, a Kona Ironman, and his wife, flew up from Texas to run the Boilermaker with me. My husband and my running partner also joined us at the starting line along with the other 11,400 runners. 

Although the first four miles is uphill with a steep climb between mile 3 and 4, I was determined to finish in 90 minutes. Early morning rains cooled temperatures to 74 degrees, so I was optimistic that the goal was reasonable . . . until the race started.

With such a large field of runners, it was wall-to-wall people. The crowd dictated the pace, unless you were seeded towards the front corrals. At first, I was feeling a little irritated that I couldn’t run the pace that I had planned. But, I quickly let it go so I could just have a good time and enjoy the race.

Buoyed by the music and cheering crowds, I crossed the finish line in 94 minutes – a little slower than planned, but still more than 12 minutes faster than last year. I can certainly live with that time. . .

‘til next year.

Cassie

"Hard things take time to do. Impossible things take a little longer."

Rob S.
on 7/14/08 11:17 am - DE