Can I expect to do this a year from now?

Seht
on 7/8/08 3:14 am
I haven't even run my first sprint tri, and I am planning to do a longer one.  Well I want to do a longer one.  My goal of running a triathlon won't be complete until I get at least a 70.3 done. Here is the event I want to do. http://www.vineman.com/ironman.htm This years race is coming up, and since it is so close, I'd love the chance to try it out for next year. Can I realistically expect to be able to complete this a year from now. I know you don't know my fitness level, and I am just starting out, but would you think it possible? Does anyone have a favorite routine that would help me get to this goal?

Swim Course Details:

The Vineman Ironman 70.3 swim is staged at Johnson’s Beach in Guerneville, California. The swim takes place in the Russian River. Groups of 75-150 swimmers at a time will start in 8 minute intervals beginning at 6:30 A.M. Water temperatures should be between 72 and 74 degrees; wetsuits will be allowed as this falls within USA Triathlon guidelines.

The swim course is an out & back course which starts in front of the dam at Johnson’s Beach and proceeds upstream stream to the turn-around point. Swimmers will keep the swim buoys on their left-hand side for the entire swim. A neutral area, which is marked with buoys, where there are no swimmers will separate the swimmers on the outbound and return legs of the swim. The swim course, which averages between 4 and 7 feet in depth, will be monitored by lifeguards in kayaks. The swim course will remain open for one hour and 15 minutes after the last wave of swimmers begins. Click here for the course map.