Triathlon question

Judi J.
on 6/22/08 12:30 am - MN
hi: can i get an honest opinion from you vets: my dh and I have been training for an August sprint triathlon. I can swim easily, bike easily but have been a slacker on the running. I'm doing couch to 5k and run walk a little over 2 miles in 25 minutes. dh is doing a sprint triathlon next saturday:  1/3 mile swim 12 mile bike 3.8 mile run/walk the brochure says run/walk, dh says the point of a tri is to run. I figure if I'm going to be there watching him I might as well go for it and see how I do. I KNOW I can walk it will my wimpy running abilities kick my butt? planning to run a lot this week, let me have it, stupid idea? thanks, judi
Soft And Lovely
on 6/22/08 1:39 am - IL
I'm brand new to this training for stuff.  I've never done a tri (sprint or otherwise) in my life.  My advice is probably pretty much useless at this point.  But since it's what I wanna do some day I say go for it!!  I think it'd be fun.  The beginner triathlete board says there's absolutely no sin in walking during the "run" part.  Lots of folks do it.  I hope you go for it and I hope you'll come back and tell us how it went!

HW/SW/CW/GW*
7850.8/7119.5/5630.9/3790.4**
*I'm not a big fan of scales.  The real numbers are on my profile.
**Weight on the sun (sure the numbers are high but look how fast you lose!)

Seht
on 6/22/08 2:02 am

2 miles in 25 minutes seems to be pretty respectable.  That means you are getting close to 12 minute miles or 5 mph which is great for just starting out.  The more you do it, the better it will get for you.  You have to start somewhere.   Do whaterver it is that get you out there and active.  If you have to walk, then walk.  That is much better than not participating at all. Good luck with the Tri and let us know how it went for you. Scott

The first time you do something - It's going to be a personal record!

Sherry_Berry
on 6/22/08 3:09 am - Dacula, GA