How do you start???

MelissaM39
on 6/17/08 9:59 am - MI
Hi everyone.  I am trying to motivate myself to the level of actually running.  I am 5 weeks post op and have yet to be cleared for excercise.  I did no moving before surgery.  Since my surgery I am walking 2 miles a day and averaging about 17 minute miles.  Not great but I am moving.  I would like to set a goal of being able to run those two miles but I have no idea how to start.  Plus I'm a little embarrassed.  I am still large and very jiggly.  Any suggeestions on how to begin to build up to running vs. walking?  I want to increase my heartrate.

Soft And Lovely
on 6/17/08 10:12 am - IL

I'm just starting out here too.  This is a great place to come and read the inspirational race reports from all the veterans here!  Here's the running plan I'm following from the Runner's World website. http://www.runnersworld.com/article/0,7120,s6-380-381--2201- 1-2X3X6-4,00.html

I'm doing the first week twice.  I'll try moving on to week two after that if I feel my joints can take it!

HW/SW/CW/GW*
7850.8/7119.5/5630.9/3790.4**
*I'm not a big fan of scales.  The real numbers are on my profile.
**Weight on the sun (sure the numbers are high but look how fast you lose!)

Linn D.
on 6/17/08 10:46 am - Missoula, MT