Weight Training

Sharese Smith
on 6/2/08 2:05 am

My surgeon told not to lift weights the first year due to fear of weight gain! I m a little troubled by this since I don’t want to have a lot of hanging skin. Has anyone started weight training? Not, heavy-duty weight training just using some weight with your cardio. I’ am almost 7 months out!

Help,

Mifiremedic
on 6/2/08 2:15 am - MI
I'm no Doctor by any means, but that makes absolutely no sense... Weight training is a great way to get a good overall workout.
Scott William
on 6/2/08 3:00 am
At 7 months, you are fine to start weight training.  I havn't a clue what your Dr is talking about because I have never heard that one before.  I had to wait 6-8 weeks.
Scott

Link to my running journal
http://www.disboards.com/showthread.php?t=1303681

4 full's - 14 halves - 2 goofy's and one Mt. Washington!
Seht
on 6/2/08 4:41 am
Yeah my doc told me 6 weeks too.  He actually shortened that after my first follow up.  Only limit I had was no crunches or anything that would stress the stomach for the first 6 weeks.  After that I was good to go. Scott

The first time you do something - It's going to be a personal record!

Earl C.
on 6/2/08 1:20 pm - Circleville, OH