I flunked hip-hop class last night!

Jean M.
on 5/7/08 2:52 am
Revision on 08/16/12
I am 54 yrs old and have been walking 30 min/day since WLS nearly 8 months ago.  Recently I added 2 aerobics classes a week and though I have to do it all low-impact style, I can keep up OK.  When I was in my teens & 20's, I studied modern dance, ballet, and jazz dance so I figured I could handle a hip-hop class.  Wrong!  I understood how to do the moves and combine them into sequences, but I couldn't keep up - I just can't move fast enough.  Is hip-hop just a young person's activity?  Are there any other oldsters out there who do hip-hop?  Is there a prayer I'll be able to keep up with it once I get more fit?  I'm so disappointed... Jean

Jean McMillan c.2009-2013 - Always a bandster at heart
author of Bandwagon (TM), Strategies for Success  with the Adjustable Gastric Band & Bandwagon Cookery. Bandwagon for Kindle now available on Amazon.  Read my blog at: jean-onthebandwagon.blogspot.com 

Linn D.
on 5/7/08 5:44 am - Missoula, MT

Jean, I think you're just a little out of practice trying to move that quickly.  If you like the class, keep going and I'm willing to bet that in just a few weeks you'll be Hip-Hopping in grand style and loving every minute of it!  I'm 42 and I thihnk it's cool that you went to begin with, and with your past dance study I bet with just a little time you'll be do great.  As I'm sure you know, dance involves a lot of anticipation, and you just haven't done it enogh so that your body knows where it's supposed to be in the next two seconds.  I'll be disappointed if you don't keep going.  It sounds like a lot of fun.  I love to dance and would take a class like that in a heartbeat if it was offered.  Of course, I wouldn't be able to keep up either right away because it's a new style for me.  Linn

onecyn
on 5/7/08 7:42 am - El Dorado, CA