Grandma needs a workout...

Musicmama88
on 5/2/08 2:15 am - Danville, IN
Hi everybody. Im new to th is forum, but really need some help here. Im a 61 year old extremely healthy and agile female, (grandma to 18 grands so I hafta be agile!) I had RNY 2 and a half years ago, losing 130 pounds. Over the winter, when I stopped walking,,I gained 10 pounds and a few inches. I panicked! I have been journaling everything in fitday, and watching every bote that goes into my mouth,and have lost 5 of those ten pounds. However, I am not exercising at all! I am so overwhelmed with everything I read, that I dont know where to start. Can someone give me some ideas here? I bought hand weights, 2 and ten pounds, a whole bunch of Sweatin with the Oldies videos ( do they REALLY work??) Some Leslie Sansone walking dvds. and even a Cher workout,,,...now, I need someone to tell me what to do first??!! Im upping my water and protein,,and keeping calories below 1300. Should I go lower?  HELP! Somebody,,,anybody,,,,,, Be Blessed Betsy
"For I know the plans I have for you ," declares the Lord. Plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future." Jeremiah 29:11

NicoleLynn
on 5/4/08 1:22 pm - Minneapolis, MN
I have done the Leslie Sansone videos and if you want something to do on a rainy day I would highly suggest it, but I agree with the others that you might as well get out and enjoy the weather by walking outside.  The nice thing with the Lesle Sansone videos is that if you walk with the beat you can track how far you have walked with the video.  I haven't seen or done a Sweatin' to the Oldies video since I was in high school (11 or 12 years ago) so I am not sure how they are now.  I say keep it simple.  If you would like ideas for exercises to do with the hand weights I can talk to my sister who is a personal trainer and see what she says and then let you know.  I hope you find some sort of exercise that you enjoy! ~Nicole