Running a Marathon

Kelly_D45236
on 4/25/08 3:46 am - Cincinnati, OH
I have my surgery scheduled for May 5, 2008.  I want to run a marathon that will be next year  around my 1 year mark, actually I think it is the exact day.  I do not run now, but would like to start after the surgery.  Is this too ambitious to go from no running to being able to run 26 miles, in one year?  If there is anyone else who did it, can you give me advice as to training?  I have a good friend who works in a running store who knows I am doing this and she said she will help me train, but advice from a fellow wls-er would be appreciated.
Kelly 

Joyce65
on 4/25/08 4:44 am - Clovis, CA
Hello, I just signed up to participate in my first Marathon so I am not experienced.  From everything that Ihave been told, the training is the key.  I signed up with "Team In Training "(raises money for the Luekemia research).  The cool thing about it is that they have structured traiing programs for you and for me that is key.  I will actually train to walk and run it (next time I will work on running the entire time:-) Like I said, I have never done it but I say...Go For It!
"When the POWER of LOVE is greater than the love of power,
then the world will have peace"
1st surgery/2nd surgery/current/goal     
245/228/194/175
October 19, 2008 Nike Women's Half Marathon *completed*
November 9, 2008 Trail of Two Cities Half Marathon *completed*
May 2, 2009 End of Trail Half Marathon *completed*
May 31, 2009 San Diego Rock n Roll Marathon *completed*
Joyce65
on 4/25/08 4:45 am - Clovis, CA
P.S A WLS member on the LapBand page told me about a marathon that she is participating in in Ohio which is called the Flying Pig Marathon whichi sounds interesting:-)
245/228/194/175
Kelly_D45236
on 4/25/08 5:05 am - Cincinnati, OH