Running/Jogging HELP!!

llben79
on 4/16/08 4:05 am - Buffalo, NY
Hello there! I am new to this forum...so forgive me I just found it!! I just have a question...when I go to the gym...I can go forever on the elliptical machine. Level 10...30-40-50 minutes...I mean FOREVER. But when I get on the treadmill and try to run, I just can't do it. I can run for a MAXIMUM of 3 minutes at a time...and then I have to stop. I'll fast walk for a few more minutes, then try running again. My pace is about 5.2 when I run. I dont understand how to increase my endurance when it comes to running/jogging. Does anyone know what I mean? Any suggestions?
striveforhealth
on 4/16/08 5:49 am - Portsmouth, NH
Hi - I just started running in the fall, so I'm not an expert - I just have my experience.  Three minutes is great!!  When I started running (I was also doing the elliptical when I started running) I used Couch to 5K (www.coolrunning.com) which had me alternating 60 SECONDS of jogging with 90 seconds of walking.   I didn't get up to 3 minutes of running until the 4th week. Everything I've read says to start out slowly with running so you don't get injured.  Most beginner programs I've seen have you running for a bit then walking for a bit and you slowly increase the time you run and decrease the time you walk.  It worked for me - before last August I had never run and now I'm working towards a 10K!  Good luck! Becky

Check out the video on youtube that my partner made about my WLS journey!
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5R8vV0N6CxA

(deactivated member)
on 4/16/08 8:47 am