Is it too late to get ready?

Jen L
on 3/24/08 3:08 pm - Central, IN
I'm just trying to figure out where to go from here and if it is too late to even try. . . Anyhow, I'm signed up to do the Indianapolis Mini Marathon on May 3rd.  I started a 12 week training program in January, but progress got derailed due to an injury and life!  I live in Indiana and it has been cold and wet lately, so I am looking forward to some warmer weather because I prefer to do my walking and running outside.  I haven't done anything for the last 2 to 3 weeks. My challenges are that I am a nurse and I am on my feet working 12 hour shifts 3 days a week.  I leave at 6am and don't return until 8:30pm.  So those days don't leave much time for training.  I also have 2 young kids that take up much of my free time.  On the positive side is that I have a professional grade treadmill and elliptical machine in my basement. I was planning on doing a combination of walk/run for the race but now I am wondering where to go from here.  I am determined to at least start the race, even if I am the last to finish and am too sore to walk the next day! I would love any advice on where I should go from here with my training.  At this point my longest training walk/run has been 5 miles.  Please tell me that it is not hopeless.  I only have to keep an 18 minute mile to stay in it!  I can easily walk a 15 minute mile at this point.  I signed up for race last year, but because of an unexpected revision with 6 months of nausea, I was unable to even attempt it.  This year I have to at least start it. Thanks, Jennifer
kelly H.
on 3/24/08 9:10 pm - Beaverton, MI