How much weight gain is normal?

swtxgal66
on 2/6/08 12:04 am - Spring, TX
I have been working out for 16 months. The last 10 months I have increased my weight lifting gradually. I only lift weights twice a week. One day upper and abs one day lower and abs. (1 hour) I do cardio 3 days per week (1 hour).  I can feel my body getting tighter and I can see some changes in the way my body looks but I still have fat on top of the muscles and it isn't going anywhere. Infact, I have GAINED 8 pounds. I suspect I have some additional water weight right now but I was wondering how much weight gain is typical when building muscle. It seems like my gain has been over the last 2 months and I can see more muscle in the last 2 months.  Ilike the muscle but I really want to get rid of at least 20 more pounds.

My band was removed due to a slip and replaced 7/3/08

(deactivated member)
on 2/6/08 12:25 pm - Miramar Beach, FL
I am certainly NOT an expert, and I'm sure someone else will have a more informed answer than mine, but... I find that at this point, I can either gain muscle *or* see a drop on the scale, but not at the same time.  So, if you are focused on building muscle (very important to improve your metabolism), then you need *some* additional calories to refuel muscle fiber growth, so you are less likely to see a drop on the scale.  I alternate focusing on strength (with a few extra calories) for a few weeks, then cardio (with lower calories) for a few weeks.  I still do both, all the time, but I increase the weight/lower the reps when I'm focusing on strength. Sorry, but I can't comment on how much weight you actually gain when adding muscle...the best suggestion I can make is to take your measurements, or pay attention to how your clothes fit! Hope that helps! Tami
Brian Meiers
on 2/7/08 8:42 am - SF Bay Area, CA
RNY on 08/18/04 with