Strength Training or Cardio???

(deactivated member)
on 1/29/08 6:22 am, edited 1/29/08 6:28 am - St. Charles, MO
There are a couple schools of thought when it comes to exercising.  I hear that strength training is so important for building muscle and cardio is great for burning calories.  So, when I started exercising, I ONLY did cardio, which I've been doing for about 2 months now.  I've lost 30 lbs and still need to lose 109 lbs, so I've been doing cardio classes and ellipticals 5x/week at 30 minutes/day.  I'm really confused about strength training, whether or not I should or need to be incorporating that into my workouts.  I really don't want to build muscle-I'm bulky as it it. Any advise appreciated!
Linn D.
on 1/29/08 12:21 pm - Missoula, MT
Hi Charleen, Although it seems as though there are 2 schools of thought, there really aren't.  Both have their places.  Cardio exercise is necessary to for cardiovascular health including cholesterol regulation.  It's not just for burning calories.  That said, the minimum recommendation is 30 minutes a day of cardio. Strength training has it's own place.  Some people will tell you having more lean muscle increases the metabolism, but if you actually look at the numbers, the amount of extra calories burned really is negligible.  The purpose of strength training is just that, building or maintaining muscle strength.  Lighter weights and higher repetitions will not build mass.  One thing people use instead of machines are the resistance band exercises.  They help build strength by using motions that are more natural to the body than those the machines use. I also have a great deal of muscle mass already and don't have any interest in building any more.  I use some functional strength training once or twice a week, but the focus of my workouts is cardio training.  I get strength training when I use higher resistance on the bike, run hills, or swim. Hope this helps some. Linn
Scott William
on 1/29/08 1:26 pm