When to start running and treadmill vs. street

FinallyLosingIt_07
on 12/21/07 11:08 am - Kettleman City, CA

The last time I did any running was high school P.E. and I weighed around 230lbs.  I'm closing back in on that number and considering I'm not 15 years old anymore, I was wondering at what weight those of you who run started running?  I'll probably start on a treadmill, what are your thoughts on treadmill vs. street?  What shoes would you recommend?  I currently wear New Balance for my job. I feel like I have all this energy bottled up and I'm ready to put it to work.

Highest weight 360  Day of surgery 289 Current weight 200

robross
on 12/21/07 8:18 pm - Los Angeles, CA
I'd recommend you wait until you lose more weight before you start running. Stick to walking for now. I trained, and ran in, the 2001 LA Marathon. When I started training, I weighed about 230, and I lost weight down to 200, but then I got injured. I ended up gaining 20 more pounds and ran the marathon at around 219. (Actually, it was a run/walk program where you run for a few minutes, then walk for a few minutes.) I really messed up my feet, and I've come to realize it's because of the intense pressure on your legs, knees, and feet that happens when you run, especially with all that excess weight on you. So now that I'm back on the weight loss express, I've stuck to walking, 3 miles , 3 times a week. And that's been plenty of exercise so far. I will start running again when I get down to about 160. I'm mentally EAGER to be running again. Having lost 60 pounds now, I feel really "light" on my feet. But I have to resist the temptation to literally run before I can walk. So that's another goal I'm looking forward to, but one that I will make when my body is ready to handle the strain.
Rob

Scott William
on 12/21/07 8:47 pm