For the distance runners out there

MikeB
on 11/7/07 9:58 pm - Pottstown, PA
Hello everyone I'm new to this section of the site. My name is MIke and I had surgery in july of 2004. I have a question for the didtance runners out there if there are any.  I live in Pennsylvania and I'm looking to do the Broad Street Run in May it is a 10 mile run. Upon completion of that I'll most likely do the Philadelphia Distance Run in September. This is a Half Marathon. If I'm feeling really crazy maybe even attempt the Philadelphia Marathon in 09. Anyway being that we are a little different that the average distance runner is there anything special that we need to do diet and training wise?    Mike
Dan_P.
on 11/8/07 4:16 am - Baltimore, MD
Hi Mike. I'm not exactly a distance runner, but I do strive to be one. I think the general consensus is that you have to find whatever works for you. I completed an 8 week training program before I ran my first 5K early last month. Since then I've steadily increased my run times, but have not substantially changed my diet at all. I believe that I will likely increase the carb count when I begin training for a marathon next fall. A buddy of mine was telling me about the Broad Street Run the other day. I'm thinking of coming up for it. Sounds like an absolute riot. Would be beautiful as well in May.  Be well. -Dan
Scott William
on 11/8/07 1:43 pm