I finished my 1st 5K - question on improving time?

Misty A.
on 11/6/07 5:59 am - White House, TN
I can't believe it. I completed my first marathon  - a 5K this past Saturday.  I finished in 37:12 minutes which was my best time. I only started training and jogging about 4 weeks ago. I have been working really hard this past month to work up to this. There was a big hill close to the end that I was not prepared for and could only jog half way up it and then had to walk the rest of the way to the top of the hill and then I got back to jogging. Except for that, I was able to complete the whole thing without walking. Jogging the whole time. I just think about the fact that I could not even walk a mile in 30 minutes a little over a year ago without wanting to die and now I am jogging over 3 miles. What a long way to come.  I do have a question. I have found that I really do like jogging and would like to continue to do it. I would like to find out the best way to improve my time. Do you keep with the long distance and then just try to go a little faster each time or do you start with short distances and go fast and add on to that? I tried yesterday to run a 10 minute mile on the treadmill. I was able to do it in 10:40. It was torture but I did it. So, I do not know if I need to work on it one mile at a time and add a little distance each time or if I should continue to do 3 miles and just work on going faster each time during the 3 miles? Any suggestion on improving time? Thanks!

Misty   
310(pre-surgery)
159 (current/post-pregnancy)
150 (Goal)

MaryS
on 11/6/07 8:52 am - Long Island, NY