Did your program have an exercise component?

HouseRD
on 10/16/07 2:03 am

Hi! I am a dietitian at a gastric bypass facility and I'm looking into starting an exercise component into our program. I was wondering if anyone had this experience in your program and what you thought? I am a personal trainer as well and was wondering what you'd be looking for related to fitness after surgery?? Any response would be helpful and greatly appreciated!!

Scott William
on 10/17/07 2:06 am
I would guess that most people would be interested in toning up anything that will sag.  There is a lot that can't be helped without surgery but occationally, some arm or leg work will benefit.  Also, since many heavy people have strong legs, keeping them strong and muscular will help to burn calories.  There are many people that come to these boards and get jazzed about running.  Perhaps a goal of completing a 5K, 10K or more would benefit many people. Good luck
Scott

Link to my running journal
http://www.disboards.com/showthread.php?t=1303681

4 full's - 14 halves - 2 goofy's and one Mt. Washington!
(deactivated member)
on 10/17/07 8:52 am