Any Advice about my first marathon???

Chris S.
on 10/12/07 2:20 am - SC
Hello!! I am new to this baord-usually on the S.C. board-and was very excited to find this one. I have my first marathon Oct 27th in Greenville SC and was wondering about any words of wisdom from anyone who has had gastric bypass and has run one. I've been training for 20 weeks now--working following Hal Higdon's training program for novice marathin runners. My philosophy is simple; I want to start and finish and enjoy myself along the way. And-I guess to finish within the 6.5 hr time limit. I use to run in HS 25 yrs ago and picked it up again during the summer. I just really enjoy it-but I have been training on my own.  I am worried about nutrition during the race mostly, but ANY words of wisdom or advice would be welcome. My friends have given me great advice---don't do it!! But-I know I can do this.  If anyone reads John Bingham the Penguin--I like his philosphy, run for the enjoyment.  Any advice to a nervous but excited first timer??? Chris

The miracle isn't that I finished. The miracle is that I had the courage to start.....John Bingham aka The Penguin

MaryS
on 10/12/07 11:19 am - Long Island, NY

Chris, You're are betting me by one week to my first marathon.  I am doing the NYC marathon on 11/4, so I have no words of wisdom to offer you.  Sounds like you have a great attitude; "start, finish and enjoy myself along the way"!  Way to go!  I've told people my goal is to finish, I don't care if I'm running, walking or crawling. 

I'm worried about nutrition also.  I've use "GU" during my long training runs, and that has worked pretty well for me.  I will have my longest run tomorrow, 20 miles, so I am curious to see how that goes.

I enjoy reading things by John Bingham.  I like his book "No Need for Speed" and I've recommended it to lots of people. Best of luck on the 27th.  Let us know how it goes.

Mary

5'6" - 302/155-158 

Check my success story on my surgeon's website: my story