Body fat percentage and weight loss?

Deanna34
on 9/25/07 7:30 am - Salem, OR
Hello! I was wondering if someone could help me out ... Jeremy seems to be a wealth of information so I am hoping maybe he or someone else could shed some light for me! My background is that my weight started out at 307 pounds with 50% body fat.  I had RNY 16 months ago and have gotten down to a current weight of 163 with 20% body fat.  I have stalled my weight loss since May and can't seem to budge the scale no matter what I do! I run 10-15 miles per week, do Spin class twice a week, and a power weight lifting class twice a week.  I only eat around 1400-1600 calories a day at the most and my dietician told me that I actually need to eat more to lose weight.  I understand this but I'm trying to find that fine line of eating too much versus eating "enough" for fear of returning to my former self!  My BMR is 1800 calories but I do way more exercising along with eating less than 1800 calories.  So I'm a bit stumped as to why I'm not losing anymore. Anyway, my question is ... is it more difficult to lose weight with the lower your body fat percentage is?  My doctor said my body fat percentage is great and that I shouldn't be concerned with losing more pounds.  But I really would love to lose a little more!  Any ideas??? Thanks! Deanna  :)

"Don't be afraid your life will end; be afraid it will never begin."
--Grace Hansen

Weight lost:  140 pounds

carlaplank
on 9/25/07 10:23 pm - Albany, NY
Me TOO! Me Too! I want to know!
AbidinginHIM
on 9/28/07 12:31 am - Ontario, CA