Is walking enough exercise?

Karen D.
on 7/13/07 3:59 am - NY
Revision on 11/24/15
Hi everyone    It's my first time posting here.  I was wondering if walking is enough exercise for the body to help burn some fat?  I have become an avid walker and do about 2 to 3 miles (brisk pace)  per day if the weather is nice. I've noticed that I'm dropping inches because my clothes are fitting looser even though I have a tough time getting those darned scales to budge!!  With maybe the addition of some weights for arm toning, in your opinion, can one get this weight off by walking? I have the Leslie Sansone DVD's for foul weather but her voice really gets on my nerves! LOL!! Thanks for your thoughts.
Earl C.
on 7/13/07 5:35 am - Circleville, OH
Hi Karen! Yep! Earl
li3Ruch
on 7/13/07 8:23 am
You bet - walking is a great exercise for you!!  Commit to something you like that you can do not just to get your weight off but to keep your weight off and to stay healthy!!  :)

Beth   
                         ~ 245/160/135 (HW/CW/DW) ~ 

(Highest Weight, Current Weight, Dream Weight)  

I am a healthy BMI now and so I am happy.  I haven't decided yet where my comfort point is for maintaining.  I'm trying to lose more, but I may find out that causes me to have more restrictive daily diet and excercise habits than what I am comfortable with long-term.  It's all about choices!!!

Jenna S.
on 7/13/07 3:40 pm - Turlock, CA
I just was reading your post and notice we have the same birthday!!!!!!!!  I just wanted say hi, I am new here too.  I got board already with walking.  So I joined a gym.  Good luck and keep up the good work.  Maybe we can keep in touch. Jenna
ChristineB
on 7/14/07 2:51 am - Western 'Burbs Chgo, IL