Any swimmers?

meltingmel
on 7/3/07 3:13 am - Grove City, Ohio, OH
How does swimming compare to other excersise say walking or eliptical? I am trying to mix it up a bit, but still want a great excersise that will build muscle, while being cardio. DO you think swimming meets that criteria? I have noticed that i can't swim as long as i can do the eliptical, so maybe it's a more intense workout????? Thanks in advance, Melinda
Peace and Blessings, Melinda
Starting weight 326
Lowest weight 145
Current weight 175
Goal weight 145
The taste of the bait isn't worth the pain of the hook
Joanna_F
on 7/3/07 9:18 am - Newport Beach, CA
Hi Melinda!   I am a personal trainer and love suggesting swimming as a way to add variety to your cardio routine.  The intensity depends upon the type of swimming you are doing (lap swimming, ocean swimming, and the type of stroke).  One reason you may fatigue sooner in the water is because your cardiovascular system is not only working at swimming, it is also working to regulate your body temperature.  Here's a good 30 minute pool routine that involves several intensity levels: Warm-up with kickboard using legs only 6x (each "x" is a lap form one end of the pool and back) Moderate breaststroke 3x  (as a kid this was more lovingly called "froggie kick") Quick breaststroke 2x Moderate backstroke 5x Moderate freestyle 2x Cool-down with kickboard using legs only 4x Another option is water-jogging using a "noodle" or two kickboards.  This is an easy cardio exercise that is also very social, making it good for groups or doing with a friend.  A water noodle is a long tubular flotation device that's sold at most sporting good stores in the swim section.  Simply wrap it the noodle around your breast-line (in front or back) so it cradles you, allowing you to float.  You can achieve the same thing with two kickboards - one under each arm pulled close to the rib cage.  Simply "run" in place, the sensation will feel similar to using a bike machine.  Try doin