Elliptical Envy!

(deactivated member)
on 11/12/06 12:09 am - Boca Raton, FL
Hi All, This is my first time on this Forum. I had my RNY 8 weeks ago and I need to get my butt in gear with exercise. I went to Sears and tried all the Ellipticals....and I am SO LOST! I have don't lots of research as well but I thought asking here might me the best solution. Those who own Ellipticals: 1) What brand and Model? 2) How sturdy is it? 3) Any suggestions if you were to buy a new one today? Thanks ! Karen I.   - Long Island, NY    (PetMomKaren) Surgery Date: 9/12/06, Lap RNY, Dr. Shawn Garber 5'8"   298 / 250 / 150 "And the day came when the risk to remain tight in a bud was more painful
than the risk it took to blossom."   - Anais Nin
Lisa G.
on 11/12/06 2:35 am - Des Moines, IA
I don't own one but I use one at the gym.  I love to hate it!  Twice the work out in half the time.  My trainer has me use itin intervals since it makes my heartrate climb quickly.  I am up to 18 minutes now!  Good luck and happy shopping.  I am in the market for a BOSU ball, that thing is a workout!
JeremyGentles
on 11/12/06 3:54 am - Johnson City, TN
Karen, Welcome to the Exercise and Fitness Forum!  Much of this will really depend on your budget. While the elipticals at Sears will work, there are a couple of brands that are known for their quality; Precor and LifeFitness. Follow the links below for info about their products.  Precor: http://www.precor.com/cons/efx/ LifeFitness: http://us.home.lifefitness.com/content.cfm/ellipticalcross-t rainers

Jeremy Gentles, MA, CSCS
ObesityHelp Exercise Physiologist

readerina
on 11/13/06 12:24 am - Denville, NJ

I'm also in the market for an elliptical .. this will be my next home exercise equipment purchase to complement the treadmill and bicyle I am currently using. The price of both Precor and Lifefitness ellipticals are WAAAYYY too high for my budget ... any suggestions in the $700-$1200 range of ellipticals? Thanks! -Carol

JeremyGentles