Help, Help, Help. Am I doing too much & getting dehydrated

babs810
on 10/6/06 11:50 pm - Boston, MA
I am 6 weeks post op & i have been in the ER, every week since returning to work 3 weeks ago for dehydration..Nausea the first week, ok  , ,, then Vomitting the second week. Uncontrollable, (I had to driven home from work ).  I am a Teacher of First Grade & my husband & i walk 45 minutes every night after work......am i pushing myself to much?  can anyone help ? I drink about about 80 ounces of fluid each day .. I have a hard time with Water so i use Crystal light, Tea, Ice tea, Propel, I only drink water when i am walking......Pre-op I drank about 64ounces of water a day plus other things,, HOW can I be Dehydrated ?........
 Smiles Babs              Wieght Loss: UPDATED  12/9/06
7/06-8/06  Pre-Op. 23 Lbs ~~~~~~ 8/23/06-TODAY Post-Op 74 Lbs

Christine D
on 10/7/06 11:55 pm - Mount Penn, PA
I have had dehydration troubles too...although thankfully nothing requiring the ER.  My dr told me that since I complain I am ALWAYS in the bathroom, I am going to dehydrate faster because my body isn't holding on to the fluids.  He said to drastically increase my fluids and this has helped.  I drink about 100 oz a day, plus I can count pudding, yogurt and popsicles as fluids too, but I only count those as additional to my 100 oz.   I also make it a point to drink all day long.  I'm a preschool teacher and I know it isn't really protocol to be drinking in class (esp. for you in a public school) but this is part of ADA and they can't refuse you if it is part of your post op plan.  My drink bottles go with me EVERYWHERE and my kids know that I have to drink or I will get sick, so they don't question it anymore. Also, is your tea decaf?  Caffeine tends to dehydrate us from what I am told.   Good luck, and always remember, when in doubt, call your Dr! Christine
babs810
on 10/8/06 11:49 am - Boston, MA