Post-DS Questions

lisad1180
on 1/22/16 8:54 pm
DS on 12/04/15

Hello all-

This is my first time posting, although I have frequently visited the forum!  I am excited to be a part of this community!!!  Anyway, I am 7 weeks out from DS.  I have lost 47 pounds, most of that in the first month.  I feel like lately, my weight loss has slowed down, a lot and am afraid that I am doing something wrong.  I can't make it to support groups because they are all on a night that I have to work, so sometimes I feel like I am all alone.  My doc's office has been really great, but I don't want to call them every day to chat...I do have some issues that I could use some help with (and will be bringing them up at my next follow up):

I have run in to a couple issues that I was hoping someone could help with (or at least tell me if they are normal!)

1- Does anyone have days where they can eat a lot of food (more than you think you could) and days when you cant eat anything?  I seriously shocked myself with the amount of food I ate today.  I didn't think my stomach could hold that much food- but I didn't get sick or anything so I am not sure what to make of it.  Two days ago, I was so sick that I could barely eat anything...

2- Before my surgery, I loved to eat.  I topped out at 280 pounds, but I LOVED food.  Since surgery, I have tried to eat my favorite foods but I can't hold any of them down.  In fact, the one food I can consistently hold down is sweet mini-peppers and hummus.  I am finding myself feeling a sense of loss.  Is this normal? 

3- extreme constipation: I take 5 doses of metamucil, 3 doses of stool softener, and a probiotic and it is still really difficult for me to "go".  Does it get easier?  My doc says that it is a rare side effect of DS and suggested that I add Milk of Magnesia, but that doesn't seem to help at all.

Thanks in advance for the help!  

Lisa

MajorMom
on 1/23/16 4:06 am - VA