Revision from RNY to DS

(deactivated member)
on 11/2/15 7:05 pm - Canada

Hello everyone

I have had a failed RNY and am in the process of have a DS done. Is there anyone else having this done?i

larra
on 11/3/15 9:28 am - bay area, CA

I have no personal experience with this but can say that we are seeing new people seeking revision from RNY, lap band and sleeve to DS all the time. I hope you have found an experienced DS surgeon for this, as RNY to DS revision is a very complex, challenging and higher risk operation that is only being done by a very few DS surgeons.

I am sending you a pm so be on the lookout for it.

Larra

stacy T.
on 11/3/15 9:43 am - San Francisco, CA

I had the DS to begin with but I know two women who did the revision from RNY to DS and were very happy. One in particular suffered terrible dumping syndrome, and not just from sweets. The DS resolved that.

Laura in Texas
on 11/4/15 5:28 pm

How long ago was your RNY? On your blog post you said it was this year. I assume that was a typo.

Why did your RNY fail? Was there a mechanical failure? Please find a surgeon who knows how to do a RNY to DS conversion. Too many surgeons do not have the necessary skills.

Laura in Texas

53 years old; 5'7" tall; HW: 339 (BMI=53); GW: 140 CW: 170 (BMI=27)

RNY: 09-17-08 Dr. Garth Davis

brachioplasty: 12-18-09 Dr. Wainwright; lbl/bl: 06-28-11 Dr. LoMonaco

"May your choices reflect your hopes and not your fears."

(deactivated member)
on 11/4/15 6:02 pm - Canada

I'm not sure why it failed. It will be 2 years in April that I had the RNY done.

Ladytazz
on 11/4/15 9:20 pm

Whatever you do please find out why you failed your first surgery or else you may find the second surgery not as successful as you hope.