Looking for some deep down honesty and some hindsight as foresight

meq815
on 9/14/13 11:59 pm - PA

At 4 1/2 months out, I still don't know if I would recommend the surgery.  The intractable nausea the first month almost put me over the edge.  And I was unprepared for the complete aversion to food.   I realize I'm still a newbie, but the whole eating thing sucks.  What to eat, when to eat, the uncomfortable fullness that comes after 3-4 bites of something.  I understand that this will probably change as my sleeve relaxes and stretches a bit.

The emotional aftermath is pretty intense, as well.  I have suffered clinical depression as far back as I can remember, and, apparently, I self medicated with food.  Surprise!

The positives: 70+ lbs lost in 4 1/2 months feels pretty damn good!  Physically I feel better- back and knee discomfort has improved.  And, I definitely look better, and feel good about looking better.

I can't stress enough what a personal decision this is.

shannn
on 9/15/13 12:09 am - Knoxville , TN

Hang in there, honey!

For most people, it gets SOOO much better!

~shannon
"The future belongs to those who believe in the beauty of their dreams." ~E. Roosevelt

(Ticker includes 11 pounds lost in pre-op diet.) 

meq815
on 9/15/13 1:37 am - PA

Thanks, shannn......your comments sound a lot like mine.  I just had a really bad day yesterday, thinking, "will eating ever not be such a big effing production ever again?".  Prob not, but, damn, do I look good!  Ha!

jashley
on 9/15/13 9:32 am
DS on 12/19/12

It does get way better.  You are at that stage where everything works, but doesn't work well.  Your sleeve will stretch, your stomach will harden up and nothing will make you feel sick any more, you'll be able to eat and drink anything...

In another 4 months you will be cruzin. 

meq815
on 9/15/13 11:47 am - PA

Thanks, jashley!  I'm soooo lookin forward to cruzin!!!!

MsBatt
on 9/15/13 1:39 am