Quick questions from a DS newbie -- NSAIDS and (current) opinions on Garth Davis

Nicole E.
on 10/26/12 8:06 pm - Houston, TX
DS on 08/15/13

First, a quick intro. I'm Nicole--age 24.  As you can see from my ticker, I'm currently in the high 350s and I want to get down to 180 or under. No co-morbidities (yet), but a heaaaaavy family history of diabetes (nearly every family member has it), high blood pressure (every member over 30 has it), heat disease, stroke, etc. etc. 80% of my family members die of diabetes-related complications or stroke. It's pretty bad and I don't want that to happen to me.

I'm a bit of a newbie to the idea of a duodenal switch. I was scheduled to have a RnY in June of 2009, but was denied and the surgeon's office didn't want to appeal. (long story) I have insurance again and want to weigh ALL my options since I can choose which surgery I want now. (The insuance I had before only covered the RnY). The DS is looking the most promising to me at the moment for many reasons (better weight loss stats, abolishments of co-morbidities, etc.)

But I've heard many conflicting things when it comes to taking NSAIDS. Some places say that DSers can take them--some say that they can't. I currently Aleve to relieve the pain I have from chronic sinus and ear infections. I've tried some of the other options on the market and they don't work as well or as quickly as Aleve. So the question I'm asking is--could I still take NSAIDS with the DS? I'd gladly stop taking them if needed because I'd rather have sinus pain than type 2 diabetes.

My other question deals with the forum's opinion of Garth Davis in Houston. I've lurked a bit on this form and have read some...interesting opinions about him and the DS (to say the least, haha), but those were from a couple of years back. I've read that he performs them semi-regularly now and want to know your current opinions. I'm scheduled for a consult with him in early December and want to be ready.

MajorMom