Vitamins: Limiting the number of different pills

DSinNC
on 8/15/12 1:39 pm
Brand spanking newbie here...three weeks out of surgery and down 60 pounds.

Got a question for you more experienced DSers. I can't find one multi-vitamin that has all of the vitamins and minerals that my doc's nutritionist says I need. How few vitamin pills do you get away with taking?

Although I assume these recommendations are fairly consistent, for the record I've been told I need daily vitamins totaling:

10,000 IU vitamin A
2,000 IU vitamin D
300mcg vitamin K
800mcg folic acid
36mg iron
30mg zinc
1800mg calcium citrate

Thanks!
MajorMom
on 8/15/12 2:08 pm - VA
Those doses aren't even enough for most RNYrs or sleeve only folks. Many of us take 2 multivitamins a day, 25,000IUs or more of dry vitamin A (palmitate), 50,000IUs of dry D3, 1,000mcg of K1, 1,200mcg of folic acid, 300mg of iron (carbonyl), 100mg of zinc and 2400mg of calcium. Most of us take even more than these. Check out www.vitalady.com. There is a starter package for DSrs but it is many more vitamins not less.  

There are many DSrs on Facebook and proboards that can tell you what it take for them to get good labs. Here's the Facebook link www.facebook.com/groups/174102532625545/ Ask to join. Proboards is public weightlosssurgery.proboards.com/index.cgi

5'1" -- HW 195/SW 187/GW 115 July 08/CW 121 Dec 2012
                                 ******GOAL*******

Starting BMI between 35 and 40ish? 
Join us on the
Lightweights Board!
DS on Aug 9, 2007 with Dr. Hazem Elariny

JazzyOne9254
on 8/15/12 2:54 pm
Unfortunately, for optimal DS health, there is no way around taking multiple pills. There are advantages to this:  If you need to adjust doses of individual vitamins or minerals, you can do so by increasing or decreasing the dose, without upsetting the schedule for the rest of the vites.