Anybody deal with low potassium.

(deactivated member)
on 8/13/12 10:32 pm
A family member of mine who just had DS 6 weeks ago has very low potassium levels right now. Doctor prescribed some potassium pills 3 weeks but they weren't taking them so now we have to play catch up. 

Did anyone deal with anything similar to this and how did you go about getting your levels back up and did you feel any better and how quickly?

Thank you for any responses

stromgardgirl
on 8/13/12 11:26 pm
 I know you don't want to mess with potassium. It is serious business. I'm pretty fresh out but I take 2 potassium a day and my levels are good. I know Gatorade powerade type drinks can help as well as v8 I think. Might need to look into iv for it to get a boost. Like I said I'm a newbie but was kinda low when in the middle of my complications after surgery and got some on iv if I remember correctly.

MajorMom
on 8/14/12 4:09 am - VA
Excellent advice!

--gina

5'1" -- HW 195/SW 187/GW 115 July 08/CW 121 Dec 2012
                                 ******GOAL*******

Starting BMI between 35 and 40ish? 
Join us on the
Lightweights Board!
DS on Aug 9, 2007 with Dr. Hazem Elariny

MajorMom
on 8/14/12 4:08 am - VA
They better play catch up! Potassium is nothing to mess with. Also, as the person posted before me, low sodium V8 juice is an excellent booster for potassium. It has 820mg per 8oz glass and is only 9 carbs. If the taste and texture is too much, water it down and add a little lemon juice. Tell your family member to get on the stick! :)

--gina

5'1" -- HW 195/SW 187/GW 115 July 08/CW 121 Dec 2012
                                 ******GOAL*******

Starting BMI between 35 and 40ish? 
Join us on the
Lightweights Board!
DS on Aug 9, 2007 with Dr. Hazem Elariny

Debbie P.
on 8/14/12 5:43 am - Kettering, OH