Unrealistic Recovery Time?

kandiekane
on 7/8/12 10:56 pm
DS on 07/16/12
I am having my surgery next Monday and even though my surgeon says I should be able to go back to work in 11 days I am still a little worried. I am a teacher and my family is going to help me get my classroom together and carry all my things into my new school. A friend of mind had the VSG and says that i am being unrealistic if I think that I will be good and ready to go in that short time frame. What are your thoughts. 3 years ago I went to work 3 weeks after a c-section (previous principal was evil and threatened my job if I didn't come back at the beginning of school year), so I am one tough cookie. I have spoken to my new principal and she is very supportive. Thanks in advance.

MajorMom
on 7/9/12 2:40 am - VA
It took me 2 weeks to heal enough and get my system in shape enough to handle 1/2 days for the first week back and I was laparoscopic. I'd crash for a nap as soon as I got home at noon. By the 4th week, I was able to work 9 hour days with a lunch break.

--g

5'1" -- HW 195/SW 187/GW 115 July 08/CW 121 Dec 2012
                                 ******GOAL*******

Starting BMI between 35 and 40ish? 
Join us on the
Lightweights Board!
DS on Aug 9, 2007 with Dr. Hazem Elariny

Valerie G.
on 7/9/12 8:40 am - Northwest Mountains, GA
 I thought I was tough, but my open DS kicked my ass.  My recovery was perfect, low pain, I was getting 100g of protein, 64oz water and all my vitamins the first couple of weeks, however I was extremely listless for a good 4-5 weeks.  I finally started feeling like myself after 6 weeks, and went back to work at 8 weeks post op.  Now, that being said, I really hit the ground running and never looked back.  At work, they really DID think I was tough as nails.

Valerie
DS 2005

There is room on this earth for all of God's creatures..
next to the mashed potatoes

bugirll
on 7/9/12 9:26 am - MD
DS on 03/19/12