cigna, Cigna, CIGNA

kandiekane
on 6/5/12 4:15 am
DS on 07/16/12
This is my first time posting ever! So I apologize for letting my first post be a negative one. I have been researching WLS for about 5 years now, had a baby, and now I am back on board. I just want to say Cigna is so horrible! I have gone through hell these past 2 weeks. I did a 6 month supervised diet (3 months is all they recquire) with the proper paper work, psych eval, nutrition eval, and I have a doctor's letter of support. On top of that I had a physical and my doctor wrote a nice letter to clear me and even attached the lab results, EKG, and chest xray results. They have denied me twice ( the second denial came less than a day later after the reconsideration was sent.) The reason is because they say I don't have a 3 month diet, doctor's letter, nutrition eval, and psych eval. The second denial came from the department's medical director!
I don't get it. I have a BMI of 53, they require a 50 or higher to approve the DS. I don't know whether to cry or make a couple of margaritas :(

(I have Cigna Preferred Access plan btw)
kandiekane
on 6/5/12 4:16 am
DS on 07/16/12
Ugh, so did not mean to post twice. :(
larra
on 6/5/12 6:24 am - bay area, CA
Get on the phone, and make sure to get the name and job title of the person you speak with, and make a note of date, time, and summary of your discussion. Document everything from here on out. Point out that you have submitted every single thing they say you don't have (maybe even submitted everything twice, if you have). Ask that your file be presented to whoever has control over this decision. Make sure your file actually contains all the things you sent.
Speak with a supervisor if needed.

And if that doesn't work, appeal, appeal, and include all the documentation with your appeal - don't expect them to dig up your file with all the stuff you already sent. Assume nothing.

Larra
Valerie G.
on 6/7/12 8:36 am - Northwest Mountains, GA