Bypass VS DS

bphatbw
on 6/4/12 1:40 am - Dallas, TX
I had the lap-band back in 2004. I weighed in at 375lbs and lost 100 lbs. I took the fill out because I was exercising regularlly and really doing well on my diet. I felt strong and wanted to try it on my own. Well... I gain 45lbs back even though I was still excersing and eating right(exercise 5-6 times per week, 6 small protien and veggie rich meals). Put fill back in and I have lost 15lbs but clearly fill is no longer working for me. my physician recommneds a revision.

I have done tons of research but I want to hear from long term survivors is the pros and cons of Bypass vs DS. I am a baker and that is how I make my living. Although, I obivously do not over indulge in my products but it is my business to know what it taste like so I am concerned with some the sugar issues on both surgeries.

I am leaning towards DS but wondering about the BM and bad gas odor how you deal with that.

Thank you,

Rebecca
larra
on 6/4/12 10:01 am - bay area, CA
Rebecca,
     Since you asked, what I have found is that, at least for me and my DS, the gas and BM issues are very much diet related. If I avoid carbs, I have no problems. Carbs cause problems, esp white flour type carbs. With your occupation, you will need to taste little samples, but I doubt you will be eating entire servings of cake/pastries, etc., and I think with that approach you should be ok with the DS .