How soon after DS can I drive?

no1texan
on 5/29/12 8:00 pm - TX
Everyone is different in their recovery but I am wondering how soon after DS can I expect to be able to drive? My time off from work is critical. I am an accountant-all desk work-and I don't have a good backup. I will be able to do some work via laptop but sooner I get back to work the better.

Currently for conditioning and exercise I brisk walk 2.5 miles a day and go to the Y several times a week for 30-45 minutes for resistence training. I really enjoy these workouts. If I get the ok to have the surgery, I will keep this routine right up to surgery time and resume post-op as soon as possible. Hopefully this will help with a short recovery time.
Sandra C.
on 5/29/12 8:43 pm - Kalamazoo, MI
 I was advised by my surgeon I could safely drive as soon as I could turn around while driving, to look for traffic. I could do this with minimal pain at the two week point. I had laparoscopic D.S. It would be 2-3 weeks longer with an open procedure. Your gym training will help you move around more comfortably with internal muscle support. I could get out of bed easier after my laparoscopic  gallbladder surgery 2 weeks ago, with workouts just like yours. I could drive after one week. Work would have been uncomfortable till the end of the second week. The D.S. is a much larger procedure, requiring rest to heal, and laying down to relax the abdomen reducing pain levels. Tylenol was all I needed from week 2 on.

View more of my photos at ObesityHelp.com

Duodenal Switch- lap
Dr. Paul. Kemmeter Grand Rapids, Mi.
Dr. John  Renucci, Plastics, Body contouring,Grand Rapids, Mi.
Start 255/ Surgery wt 235/ Current wt. 117

BMI-20, 135 lbs lost, 5'3"

teachmid
on 5/29/12 9:13 pm - OKC, OK
Once you're off narcotic pain medicine.
     -Gail-
SW  257    CW  169  GW  165

DivaJojo
on 5/30/12 12:20 am - Atlanta, GA