Question about Recovery...

TravelingMomofTwo
on 4/21/12 8:21 am
 I know this varies tremendously between people but, two questions:

1) could I go on vacation 2-3 weeks after DS surgery, assuming its lapascropic? I wouldn't drive, and ride would be about 6 hrs. We could take frequent breaks, and can be flexible. It would be a relaxing beach vacation...walking boardwalk, sitting at beach maybe a day, etc. 

2) and how soon could I go back to work 1-2 days a week, on a desk job. I could be flexible with days, hours, etc. It would be mostly phone and email, with paperwork....I know someone would have to drive me. 

Im a teacher so I'm trying to time things (if they work out that way with the surgeon, insurance, etc)....

Thanks so much!

DS Surgery Date Scheduled for July!

HW: 277

MajorMom
on 4/21/12 8:29 pm - VA
All I can tell you is what my experience was. I went back to work 1/2 days after 2 weeks. The 1st week was ok but my bathroom issues needed me to be home in the middle of the day. It got better soon after. By week 4, I was back full-time.

The vacation sounds wonderful and I would have done that in a heart beat.

--g

5'1" -- HW 195/SW 187/GW 115 July 08/CW 121 Dec 2012
                                 ******GOAL*******

Starting BMI between 35 and 40ish? 
Join us on the
Lightweights Board!
DS on Aug 9, 2007 with Dr. Hazem Elariny

TravelingMomofTwo
on 4/22/12 2:33 am
Thanks for your response. I know it varies but I'm trying to get some real idea of how I'll feel. All I've had was a c-section and I wasn't sure how that compared... I wonder how it compares to a gall bladder, c-section, or a gastric bypass surgery??

We booked the vacation before we knew I was going to pursue this surgery or I wouldn't have done it during this summer.

It's nice to know I could probably go back to work part-time when I return from vacation too...assuming my recover is like yours and I don't have additional side effects, etc.