Ready to go! sort of

BDK1224
on 4/17/12 3:59 am - IL
Hey All,

Its been a while since ive posted.  Since the time I have posted, Ive been approved by my insurance, been given a surgery date of 4/24/2012, and finished consent day yesterday.  I am excited to get my life back, however i am not excited to go under the knife.  Im on day 3 of 10 of the pre op diet.  Lost about 5 lbs.  My doctor is Dr. Vivek Prachand at the University of Chicago.  Everyone there has been wonderful so far, especially Angela willis who eased my fears considerably yesterday.  A week to go and Im getting a little scared.  I know im a newbie and the vets are rolling their eyes saying get over it, and i probably will.  Can anyone tell me about what to expect at the U of C hospital, rooms, nurses, etc.  Can anyone give anyone tell me about pain recovery in the hospital period.  sorry  to ramble.
galla1
on 4/17/12 4:13 am
 Well I cant offer any advice on the hospital.. But I can tell you my experience was a good one.. Pain wasn't bad very manageable.. I had surgery on Wed and was released on Friday morning.. I was up walking a couple hours after surgery.. I have to say it was pretty easy for me!! Hope yours is also.. Good luck!

SW 314-- CW 170-- GW 155   HT 5'7"  I love my DS !!
BDK1224
on 4/17/12 4:23 am - IL
Thanks galla1 for the support!  Glad yours went well.  I will be going in next Tues so hope to be out Thurs.  Cross my fingers.
AundreaSmith
on 4/17/12 6:46 am - Caledonia, MI
DS on 03/12/12
I also can't give you any info on the facility you will have your surgery at.  But I was also up and walking the evening after surgery.  My pain wasn't bad...but I have also had 2 c-sections and had my gallbladder removed.