Considering DS... advice appreciated

fatgirl007
on 3/11/12 8:44 am - atlanta, GA
Hi Everyone,

I am new to obesity help and I am doing research on the DS surgery.  I am considering the DS as well as the lap band.  I am leaning more toward the lap band since I would rather not take the time off of work to recover... and there's only one surgeon in our area who does the DS and he does them wide open.  This scares me.  I have a friend who had the DS and she is doing great however she has a 8-10 inch vertical scar in the middle of her stomach... hence my interest in the lap band.  I am very much on the fence right now and I would love to hear how you're doing post-DS surgery.

Thank you!
Dee

p.s.  My BMI is 47 and I need to lose about 150 lbs.
happydsr
on 3/11/12 9:13 am
 I recommend that you make a decision based on long term success, rather than the intiial few weeks recovery period.

The DS is a life long surgery that will help you lose and continue to maintain that weight loss.  If you make the commitment to the DS, it makes the commitment to you.  I know little about the band, other than reading on OH the large number of failed bands and folks who are revising to the DS to do it right, unfortunately the second time around

the scar is a non-issue.  Some surgeons do the DS laproscopically so minimal scarring.  But even if you hae the surgery open, you will end up with so much extra skin from your amazing weight loss that you will either be keeping your belly and extra skin covered, or you will be having plastic surgery to remove it and your scar will go at the same time.

Learn more about the  benefits of the DS on DS Facts.  Or check out the other board where the vets hang out
MajorMom
on 3/11/12 9:20 am - VA
Welcome aboard. Ditto the advice from "happydsr". Take a look at DSFACTS.com and see the list of surgeons there. Dr Dennis Smith in Atlanta is one I'm familiar with and he may do the DS laparoscopically.

--gina