Anyone else?

Emantha
on 2/5/12 9:56 pm
Hi, first, i have been a long time lurker, but this is my first post. please bear with me, as this may wander all over the place
 I have been researching DS for about 5 years, but this is the first year my insurance has covered bariatric surgery, and i have an appointment for my very first consult on feb 23. It is the one that lasts about 3 or 4 hours. It is where i have to sit through a lecture of surgical options then actually meet with the surgeon in person.

I am 5 ft  4 in, and weight 325 (ouch, did i just admit that out loud?)  So a bmi of around 54. I am pretty healthy, my blood pressure is good, my cholestrol is good, good choletorol is about 2 points too low, probably because i smoke,  I do have sleep anpnea, and some arthritis.

I have about a million questions to ask of people who have "been there, done that, got the t-shirt".
 I know i have read  and researched the ds for years, but now that it looks like i might actually be able to have the surgery, i am starting to get nervous.  I just did get started on Paxil about 3 weeks ago for depression, now i am going to have to have a psych eval for this surgery, and am concerned that by finally asking for help, i will have disqualified myself for this surgery.

I also have a rant about the "how your life will change" topic. DOes OH have a place i can just rant, because i really really need to, and i need it to be with other people who will understand what i am talking about LOL..
 And, Oh, i am looking for some real world advice about what to expect after surgery. I vivdly remember a post here from a woman who gave the advice to buy a couple bottles of witch hazel for the weeks following surgery. She said "the first few weeks poo is more acidic, and your rump will be sore, and witch hazel is very calming" I have remembered that for a long time because it is just ... excellent advice!