I have been told in order to absorb Vit you need to take them with food

usandall
on 1/22/12 9:34 pm
Supposedly if you do not take them with food you simply flush them down the toilet each time you urinate..........Is this true?  If so how do you divide the 30 something vit a day with your meals?

Thank you
Donna
Kayla B.
on 1/22/12 10:40 pm - Austin, TX
What?  No.  How would they have gotten in your urine in the first place if you supposedly did not absorb them? 

Sometimes if you take too much of a water soluble vitamin, you will pee out the excess.

Many of our vitamins end up in our poop.  That's just part of malabsorption.
5'9.5" | HW: 368 | SW: 353 | CW: 155 +/- 5 lbs | Angel to kkanne
http://i20.photobucket.com/albums/b224/icyprincess77/beforefront-1-1.jpg?t=1247239033http://s20.photobucket.com/albums/b224/icyprincess77/th_CIMG39903mini.jpg  
usandall
on 1/22/12 10:55 pm
I am a nurse and I heard this years ago by one of my professor........... I graduated in 1992.   The only reason why I gave it any thought was because she was an intelligent instructor.  There is a saying nurses are the worst pt and I am sure it is true:)  It the nurse in me which makes me want to ask questions about every little detail.  I have always been of the thought process one can learn from every one.  In this journey in my life I have found the Ds'er's seem to know more then the Medical field. 
Thank you for taking the time to respond.
Donna
Nicolle
on 1/23/12 2:58 am
My DS surgeon saisd just the other day that we should try NOT to take them with food, as an empty stomach will aid in our vite absorption.

Nicolle

I had the kick-butt duodenal switch (DS)!

HW: 344 lbs      CW: 150 lbs

Type 2 diabetes and sleep apnea GONE!

Raven300
on 1/23/12 6:14 am