surgeon might switch fr/sleeve to DS..????

Britt_Bearpaw
on 1/8/12 1:44 am

Hello. I have been pretty dedicated to educating myself with all things gastric sleeve. I am paying for my surgery myself, because my insurance won't cover WLS for me since I don't have any "fat" illnesses. I am going to Tijuana in order to afford the surgery. I have been preparing for this for about four months, but suddenly this week it feels like the surgeon is trying to sway me into getting something other than the sleeve. Since I refuse bypass, the only thing left for me, being that I am 450 pounds, would be the DS. However, I don't know much about it. I just read the info on here about it, and the risks scare me. Also, I am only 25 so being on a hefty vitamin regimen seems so daunting. Also, they are expensive and I am a full time student and mommy and can't really afford vitamins regularly. Looking for experiences, the bad and the good....opinions, everything really on the DS. Thanks.

Its a Secret
on 1/8/12 2:04 am
I am a noob to the DS.  I had mine in November, most of the WLS have the same risks and don't believe what you hear about bathroom habits.  YMMV but I'm only in there once a day.  The first month wasn't fun but I'm stable now.    At 450 pounds, DS is probably a good choice.  Go to DSFACTS.org (it might be .com) and read.  There are vets at the link in my siggy line that can probably give you more info and better advice.  The vitamin regimen is daunting but so are the comorbities that you will eventually suffer.  Believe me, waiting till I was almost 50 wasn't the smartest thing I've ever done.

Also, check out your surgeon at dsfacts.  There are some lulu's in Mexico that have less than adequate facilities and lots of infection problems.  You want to only have this surgery once, take your time and choose well.  Revisions are costly and dangerous.

me

(deactivated member)
on 1/8/12 2:04 am, edited 1/8/12 2:27 am
Britt_Bearpaw
on 1/8/12 2:14 am