I'm a newbie. DS surgery on Friday

Lisa R.
on 12/6/11 1:09 am - UT
 Hi! I'm a newb, too!

My surgery is scheduled for this coming Friday. (December 9th, 2011)

Since I got the good news on the first of December that I've been approved for a DS by my insurance, it's been hectic, and I've been a totally amped-up, and nerve wracked mess. 

The day I got the news I was working on getting the tree up. Here it is, if you're curious what Christmas tree abuse look like. I'm starting a self-help group after the New Year. *grin*

I have NEVER put so many decorations on a tree before. Hubby had to wire it to the wall to keep it from falling over forward. All that excitement, anxiety, and nervousness got loaded onto that fiber-optic fakery. 

I've cleaned three room's carpets, and laundered every piece of clothing, bedding, and accent textiles in this house. I even ironed my husband's uniform's, which I threw over almost a year ago as a lost cause. (He has an issue with hanging up his clothes.) 

I've done paper crafts, knitted half an afghan, and bathed and groomed our six fur-babies. 

I've also lost over 20 pounds by adhering to the pre-op liver-shrinking diet. I started it before I even got the insurance acceptance, or knew the surgery date, which turns out to be a really fortuitous act. 

Tomorrow is my pre-op day, and yet there's still so much to do to get my day-to-day responsibilities squared away before I go out of action for the 2-3 weeks before Christmas, not to mention all the added details the holiday brings. 

But you know what? It's OK. It's OK if I don't get everything done. 

It's OK if the porch handrail, 4 front windows (on 2 stories), lamp post, and garage door's outlines don't get their usual lighted garland wrapping. 

And it's OK if I don't get 8 dozen sour cream sugar cookies baked and decorated for the visiting grandkids (and bottomless pits known as sons) this year.