UPDATE: (Federal BCBS) Policy included, please give advice.

determineddanni
on 11/15/11 2:53 am

Figured they would throw **** at me so here goes…

So I called for an update on my claim today for the DS. The rep was completely confused that they denied for not having over a 50 BMI. Regence BCBS is handling it since my surgeon is in SLC. So I think they are getting confused with their local BCBS policy and federal (which requires 40 bmi). I plan to smack them with a stick. It is total BS and they know it. What should my plan of attack be? I have never done anything like this before. As of right now I told her to double check with the nurse, make sure they have it right. If she calls me back and they hold firm with their decision how do I write this appeal letter out?

Here is my policy: (I meet all requirements below)

Gastric restrictive procedures, gastric malabsorptive procedures, and combination restrictive and malabsorptive procedures to treat morbid obesity – a condition in which an individual has a Body Mass Index (BMI) of 40 or more, or an individual with a BMI of 35 or more with co-morbidities who has failed conservative treatment; eligible members must be age 18 or over.

Note: Here are some things to keep in mind about surgery for morbid obesity:

Prior approval is required for outpatient surgery for morbid obesity.

• Benefits for the surgical treatment of morbid obesity, performed on an inpatient or outpatient basis, are subject to the following pre-surgical requirements:

− Diagnosis of morbid obesity for a period of 2 years prior to surgery

− Participation in a medically supervised weight loss program, including nutritional counseling, for at least 3 months prior to the date of surgery. (Note: Benefits are not available for commercial weight loss programs )

− Pre-operative nutritional assessment and nutritional counseling about pre- and post-operative nutrition, eating, and exercise