Disappointing appt. with Dr. Kemmeter

Carol P.
on 11/14/11 5:11 am
I've sat here and thought about it, and what I think I am going to do is to tell him either DS or nothing.  Then if it's "or nothing", I'll work on my insurance company to see if they'll let me go to Keshishian. I have Priority Health, which is a Michigan based HMO, but I will just have to try and go out of network if necessary.

I'm sure I only get one shot at WLS, and I want a DS.
determineddanni
on 11/14/11 5:53 am
I am a pre-ob newbie so what I say is not as valid as some but I did want to put my 2 cents out there. I am have also had my gallbladder removed and I am a lightweight. So here goes...

1st
My doctor did not say having my gallbladder out would cause any problems. Unless my surgeon who took it out used a machete lol I don't see where you would have to get an RNY because of your GB being taken out. If he is sticks with this theory I would get a second opinion from Rabkin or Dr. K.

2nd
I know all surgeons do different lengths of cc and different sizes of stomach but I would make sure to get the specifics of what exactly these sizes he has planned for you. Because if he gives you a huge stomach with a long long cc... well I know I would ask for a second opinion. My surgeon uses the same cc and stomach for every pt. He says that this combination has great success. Just because I am a lightweight doesn't mean i wouldn't eventually end up as a heavyweight later on... it is so subjective. I want a tool that will work on the long term.

I am not a medical proffesional by any means or a vetted DS'er but if this was me, I would not settle I would get a second opinion. Remember you have to live with this and make it work, don't you want the best?

PS
I know the surgeon that you are going to is a good DS surgeon and he has plenty of pt's on here as well and I do not doubt his skill. :) just to add that I don't want to sound like I am bashing him lol
hollyweasel
on 11/14/11 8:08 am - MI