I RETURNED TO WORK TODAY AND......

(deactivated member)
on 11/7/11 4:55 am - ewing, NJ
 i was called into human resources and the Director wanted to know if my surgery was elected and if I chose to go get surgery as if its cosmetic!!!! I told him no it was medically necessary and I was actually correcting a previous surgery. I felt really violated and I even hear they were training one of my staff for my position. After I gave him the explanation he says Welcome Back!! The nerve of ppl!!! Just wanted to vent to you guys!!!
M. Miller
on 11/7/11 5:15 am
Ummmm....thats HIPPA information....I do not even think they have the right to ask that....at least that is how we are trained.  But I guess I really dunno, I am an engineer, don't do well with all that touchy feely HR stuff.     I'd be furious too but I'd tell him it was none of his business and he had the doctors not and doctor's release and that is all he needs.

Glad you are back to work so soon!  Makes us pre op newbies a little less nervous to see this.

(deactivated member)
on 11/7/11 5:22 am - Bayonne, NJ
People are unbelievably insensitive. My former director tried to tell the board my revision surgery was elective, even though it was correcting a potentially life-threatening condition. Nice to know it backfired on him, and he was fired for that and some big HR mistakes.
(deactivated member)
on 11/7/11 6:16 am - San Jose, CA
I would be SO pissed, I might spend a few bucks (and it might be free) to get a referral to and consult with an employment attorney to ask if the Director of HR was allowed to even ASK the question.  Presumably, you already had submitted your paperwork for the time off establishing that your surgery was medically necessary.  I don't believe he has right to know ANY specifics of your medical condition, only that your surgery was medically necessary, as established by your surgeon's note.

I would be LIVID.
Its a Secret
on 11/7/11 6:40 am