APPROVED!!!

YeahItsCase
on 11/4/11 11:01 am
I first attempted an approval in the first week of August and was denied..Dr. Stewarts office and Kathleen (the insurance lady is what I call her) worked them for 2+ months (trying before they appealed) and I just found out today that I was APPROVED!!!

I think my date will be December 7th and I am just freakin' out! It just doesn't seem real. I am trying not to second guess my decision..I would be lying if I said I wasn't afraid of the bowel issues and smells and the vitamin regimen, etc. I don't want this surgery now to affect my personal life later (smell wise) but I have done a LOT of reading and I know that for the most part, you all say it is controllable. 

Thoughts:

I am not good at swallowing pills and I had a horrible anxiety episodes as a kid stemming from a choking incident. I haven't quite figured out how I will tackle that yet. I have gotten a lot better but my giant multi that I take now is a problem. I cut it in half and still have had issues. Are there chewable calciums? I have heard people say that those are huge pills too.

I am excited to be healthy..nervous because I am only 23 and I just hope there are no bad long-term effects of this surgery..i know there are vets 10+ years out but they seemed to be a bit older than me when they got the surgery. Do we know how this could effect me 40+ years from now?

Anyway..the positives outweigh the negatives. I know that while the VSG would leave me with a few less pills, etc..I am afraid of not making my goal weight or getting it all of OR gaining it back. I'd like to think my issue is honestly with how MUCH I eat and not always WHAT I eat..