Birth Control PMS RAGE! (another bc quetion)

newyorkbitch
on 8/14/11 5:10 am
Spermicides are advised for many barrier methods but not with a correctly used cervical cap.  With a cervical cap you have to be fitted by a gynecologist and really learn how to put it in correctly.    Since cervical caps are left in for a good long while (if you want to),  the spermicide wouldn't work that whole time anyway.

I work in the field of infertility and I'm a Planned Parenthood counselor.  Ask away.  I myself miscarried twice,  did many IVF cycles before having a healthy baby in January,  at 11 years post-op.

Do you know the reason for your miscarriages?  At what week did you miscarry both times?  Did you conceive easily?

Lots of PP counselors recommend spermicides always because too many people do not use barrier methods correctly or consistently so the spermicide is an extra layer of protection,  as it were...

honeybadger 11
on 8/14/11 5:26 am - FL

I conceive VERY easily IF im watching my cycle. Wasnt able to conceive for the first year then did a HSG and found out that i has stenosis of the vaginal cervix and since they fixed it with the procedure we got preg the next time we were able to try. Miscarried at 7 weeks with that preg but dr was not concerned as i was told its commom SO wait the 3 month my dr recommended and conceive on the 2 month after that then miscarried at 6 weeks. I did a vag U/S with both and neither preg had a fetal pole:(

I did all the basic bloodwork...i forget what they are now but im sure you know! Everything came back normal. I was seeing a high risk OB at the time and wanted to move onto a Reproductive Endo but with the miscarriages i gained weight (not that i wasnt already MO) and decided that i needed to get my weight under control for the health of myself and any future babies. Granted that was the orginal reason i got the lapband...boy what a joke this thing has been!