Virgin DS vs Non-Virgin (post Band) DS

(deactivated member)
on 8/7/11 5:16 am
Hey everyone,

As someone fairly new to this board, I'm still learning the navigation so I'm sorry if this is widely known (or should be known by me!). 

I've seen in a few posts recently that weightloss for a non-virgin DS patient post band removal isn't as good as if the band was never placed.

I tried to search but I didn't come up with anything explaining why that would be and where I can find that information.  I guess I could understand post RNY because your anatomy is changed in that surgery, then it is re-changed for the DS but I'm trying to figure out why that would be for the crapband.

Any information and resources would be much appreciated.

C
pycca
on 8/7/11 5:45 am - Haslet, TX
If you have been a person who has had the crap band for a long time, mine was 5 years,  your body is used to the weight loss cycle, it is not fooled by the restriction..

the malabsorbtion is what is helping us loose.

If your lucky some don't have this, but have found alot of us did.  even being a lightweight to start adds another kink in it  ! LOL

With the band we have starved ourselves forcefully..kind of like the years of up and down dieting. it has screwedour systems up,,

It does correect but it takes a while.. I still have lost,but much slower and am effected by carbs easier.So I had to be VERY strict with the carbs or it made weight loss  slow down more.

Check out the revision board, there are some there too,
Poodles
on 8/7/11 11:32 am - TX
Hmm... I never post to the revision board.  May have to stop by there to help my fellow bandster friends.

After my surgery I lost slowly, but then after I got control over my head hunger and carb devil I started doing better.   Many lost faster than me, and I was very discouraged and beat myself up alot, but I finally started dropping weight and have evened up with people as far out as myself (I think).