Newbie questions (and a convert from RNY)

ABath
on 7/27/11 7:51 am, edited 7/26/11 8:05 pm - WI
VSG on 11/26/13
(Edited for formatting)

Hi all. I’m a newbie and have been lurking on this website for a week or two now. Boy, am I glad I found you. I was all set to have the RNY and stumbled on the DS Forum. I have learned so much since I have been here and have already talked to Dr. Engstrand and received the go-ahead to have the DS instead. For the past 13 years, my weight has steadily increased. I had two medically induced bouts of menopause before having everything removed, and was then diagnosed as being hypothyroid. Needless to say, my metabolism tanked. The last diet that I tried was HCG and I did lose 50 lbs and maintained for approx. 3 months. Although I made no changes to what I was doing, I regained the 50 lbs plus 20 more in the next 3 months. I’m 5’1 with a petite frame and though some may think that I’m a lightweight, I can barely stand up at 224 lbs. I have GERD as well as the “GERD cough,Â" acid reflux, gastro paresis, insomnia, and joint pain. My vitamin D and hormone levels were almost bottomed out when my PCP did labs on me at the beginning of the year. A light bulb came on when I was reading some of Diana Cox’s posts since the slow metabolism is killing me.

Sorry for TMI but I don’t feel so alone since finding this forum. My problem now is that I had almost completed all of my pre-op stuff for RNY before coming to this board and now that I have been reading anything and everything I can find on DS, my head is swimming. I can’t remember if my info is for the RNY or DS and everything that I learned so far at the doctor and nutritionist was based on RNY WLS. Please forgive me for have basic, and maybe stupid questions, but I won’t know the answer unless I ask. I have found a lot of information already and will probably find a million more questions to ask before surgery but I'll start with these. Here goes: